Promises to keep …

Standard

This poem has always drawn me into its world, a world of breath-holding depth and mystery-laden simplicity. So many different interpretations. So many possibilities. So many emotional responses to a scene I have never literally experienced and yet whose memory seems my own. And miles to go before I sleep. Words too beautiful to try and explain. Too poignant to linger over too long. Too mesmerising to stop the echo of their whisper once the page has been closed.

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

by Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village, though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Miles to go before I sleep ... Mixed media on canvas by Julia Lund

Miles to go before I sleep … Mixed media on canvas by Julia Lund

4 thoughts on “Promises to keep …

  1. I think we’ve all been there. I still have a promise to you I need to fulfill (I’m working on it). I love the artwork. The dimensional character, the colors and the textures in the large image of the piece are wonderful!

    Like

  2. I loved doing this piece; It’s got all sorts of materials from wire to garden canes in there! It takes me a while to produce anything – art or writing – and I love the process. Thank you for your appreciation. And as for your promise, please don’t feel it as a burden.

    Like

Leave a Reply

