Pick a dream

Standard

At night, my dreams of asleep beckon; dreams where I can fly, dreams where I can run without getting out of breath, where I can ride a bike without falling off. Dreams where I am never old. Dreams where, sometimes, people I love but who long since breathed their last breath, visit. In my asleep dreams, I encounter characters who ask me to write them. Some, I have. Some are waiting their turn. To reach my dreams of asleep, no mountains have to be climbed, no streams forded, no rainbows flown over. I just close my eyes and drift there. And, if fear hammers at my heart, I open my eyes and defeat the dream-crashing terrors.

When I’m not asleep, my dreams of awake beckon; dreams where life never hurts the people I love, where the people I’ve lost never left. Dreams where I walk by the sea whenever I want. In my awake dreams, I’m not tired. I write. To reach my dreams of awake, no blood has to be poured, no sweat broken, no tears shed. To reach my awake dreams, I just let myself drift. I don’t even have to close my eyes. All I have to do is imagine.

My dreams of asleep and awake are always there. They live with me in the world where I live. The world where I choose to bring the best of my dreams to life. The world where, to defeat the fear I sometimes feel, I have to wipe away my tears and look terror in the eye. The world where, sometimes, I watch the people I love walk painful paths I cannot walk for them. The world where, each time I fall, instead of staying fallen, I get up and try again. The world where there are days I can stay in the world of asleep until I am no longer tired and then take a walk by the sea with someone I love who never left. And on the very best days in the world where I live, I write. I write loves and losses, hopes and wishes. I write flights and fallings, pain and healing. I achieve with my eyes open as I take hold of the dreams I choose.  

“Whenever you want to achieve something, keep your eyes open, concentrate and make sure you know exactly what it is you want. No one can hit their target with their eyes closed.”  Paulo Coehlo- The Devil and Miss Prym

22 thoughts on “Pick a dream

  1. Your piece spoke to me…especially the first paragraph. My parents visit me in dreams, my first husband, and others I have loved who are no longer of this world. Most of them are nice dreams, dreams of ordinary days, ordinary times. I wake with a smile on my face.

    Like

  2. This is one of the most brutally honest, insightful, and disarming posts I think I’ve read on the blogosphere Julia. If the reader fails to be touched at some point then either they don’t speak fluent English or they’ve got serious issues upstairs.
    It’s now the 8th, and would you believe I’m still getting into my stride with my ‘blogs to follow’ patrols. lol.
    I will be here often – you have been warned!

    Like

  3. Yes, our dreams are so important, both sleeping and waking. I live by my dreams, the ones that wake me up in the middle of the night begging me to tell their story, and the ones during the day, forging me forward into my destiny. Where would we be without our dreams? Your post is raw and causes self reflection. Everyone dreams of something. I have many dreams, too. I will be sharing some of them with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

