It’s a gift

Standard

If you haven’t read Strong as Death yet, then why not download it free this weekend and give it  a try? If you have already read it, then why not update your version to the second edition that is now live on Amazon and see what you think?

I have been asked many times where the scenes in the book take place. With the exception of the bridge where Minnie and Dylan have their first, proper conversation, and the park, all the locations are fictional. However, Carlisle is real, and who knows, if you looked hard enough, the fictional places might somehow appear? If you were inclined to search, here are some clues as to where I’d start looking …

There’s the bridge over the River Eden …  There’s the bookshop, Déjà Lu … If The Chocolate Teapot existed, you might find it here … And the trees that hide the stranger could be in this park …

Minnie's bridge

"As I held it, I swear the book began to hum, its song a darkness filtering through my fingers, into my hands, along my arms. My scalp prickled, my heart thumped, as though it didn’t have the energy to keep on beating."

“As I held it, I swear the book began to hum, its song a darkness filtering through my fingers, into my hands, along my arms. My scalp prickled, my heart thumped, as though it didn’t have the energy to keep on beating.”

"The bow-fronted window overlooked the cobbled street behind the cathedral. Inside, battered leather sofas and wing chairs were grouped around chunky, rustic tables. Shabby-in-a-good-way, Dee described it. Scruffy was her mother’s description."

“The bow-fronted window overlooked the cobbled street behind the cathedral. Inside, battered leather sofas and wing chairs were grouped around chunky, rustic tables. Shabby-in-a-good-way, Dee described it. Scruffy was her mother’s description.”

‘Do you know him?’ I whispered as the stranger’s stare slipped round my heart like cold fingers. ‘Who?’ ‘Over there, under the tree.’ ‘That tree?’ he asked.

‘Do you know him?’ I whispered as the stranger’s stare slipped round my heart like cold fingers.
‘Who?’
‘Over there, under the tree.’
‘That tree?’ he asked.

23 thoughts on “It’s a gift

  1. I could disappear and never be seen again under the heaps of books groaning to be read. If you do find the time and eyesight allows, enjoy. If you don’t, then thank you for your encouragement and support. Word of mouth is very powerful.

    Like

    • Thanks, Veronica. As for other projects, they are so far on track. My next book, Selkie should be available late May/early June, which is when I’ll give my full attention to my next writing project. In the meantime, I’ve got a host of other ideas trying to bully me into starting them – but too much plate spinning only results in lots of broken crockery 🙂

      How is your film shaping up?

      Like

    • Hi Kate. You have to alter the settings on your device so that it automatically sychronises updates. I emailed the help people at Amazon and they did it remotely and also sent me the link to the web address so I could sort it on my device – but it was a co.uk address so I’m guessing it’ll be different for you? I can forward the email if you like?

      Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean … I’m prioritising my writing at themoment. I’ve got sn article on updating ebooks so will post that on my blog – hopefully this weekend.

      Hope your trip was wonderful – looking forward to reading about it.

      Like

    • I know what you mean … I’m prioritising my writing at the moment. I’ve got an article on updating ebooks so will post that on my blog – hopefully this weekend.

      Hope your trip was wonderful – looking forward to reading about it.

      Like

    • Love in only ten lines, oh my! I’m now wearing my frightened face. I’ve never been much of a poet … I will have a think but can promise nothing, especially nothing quickly.

      Thank you for starting to read my book. I hope you enjoy it, but if not, remember that there are too many books to read in the little reading time we have, so never feel obliged to finish one that doesn’t work for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. To be perfectly honest, you should feel proud of your book as far as Im concerned. I have not touched a fiction novel since I read the Wicked series and his subsequent books. There is just too much out there and most of it, sorry to say, is drivel. I am truly enchanted by the story thus far and look forward to reading more. And thank you for good grammar and spelling. It seems a small thing but is one reason I never got past page three of Twilight. You are right about precious reading time. Have a beautiful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

