Snowbells

Standard
Springs in the Valley

Springs in the Valley

Forty years ago this month, I was given a book of daily devotional readings which, over the years, I have dipped in and out of, though by no means on a daily basis.  Today, I read a short passage that mentioned a flower I’d never heard of before, the Soldanella, also known (as I discovered when I googled it) as “snowbell”.

The reading mentioned a booklet by someone I’d never heard of before, Lilias Trotter, entitled “The Glory of the Impossible”, in which she ‘traced the power of this fragile plant to melt its way through the icy covering into the sunshine overhead.’

"The Glory of the Impossible"

“The Glory of the Impossible”

Of course we all have our own “icy coverings” that can make belief in any sort of warmth and sunshine almost impossible, we all face or have faced personal heartaches or challenges that tell us the only place left for us is cold and dark and hopeless. Many Beautiful Things official trailer

As I have listened to the news emerging over the past couple of weeks, it’s painfully evident that globally there are pockets of such unimaginable darkness, where evil seems to have triumphed so spectacularly, that light might never have been real. But light is no myth, and for every heart that responds to evil, that chooses destruction and hatred as its course, there are others that do not, others that, despite their own icy coverings, find a way to melt their way through.

All it takes is the tiniest spark of light to overpower the darkest of dark places, just one glimpse of light, and that is where hope lives.

If you want to find out more about Lilias Trotter, check out this blog:

12 thoughts on “Snowbells

      • Timothy Price

        And then there are Pansies, which in no way are they “pansies” in the sissy sense of the word. They bloom all winter here with no extra water and temperatures getting down to -23º C and even colder.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I have been astonished over the years at just how resilient plants are – whatever the weather throws at them, even when the seasons conspire to confuse them into giving up, they always do what they were created to do, grow and bloom just where they were planted. I have yet to apply that lesson consistently in my own life, but the amazing grace I’ve discovered never abandons me, even when I turn in the opposite direction, shut my eyes and stick my fingers in my ears.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

